Northeast Iowa Community College is a public, tax-supported, two-year educational institution governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees. Trustees set policy and are elected by the voters of their district to four-year terms.

Additionally, the administrative cabinet provides leadership to the College, serving in an advisory role to the president. Liang Chee Wee, Ph.D. is the current president of the College.

NICC also employs five academic deans who, along with the vice president of academic affairs, set academic policy for the College. The College operates under a three-year strategic plan.

Students or other stakeholders at the College are encouraged to share concerns with administration through the College's complaint procedures.