Driver education courses provided by Northeast Iowa Community College teach novice drivers the knowledge, driving skills and attitudes necessary to become safe, low-risk, responsible drivers. The class satisfies the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) requirements and includes successful completion of 30 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience and 6 hours of observation. To comply with Iowa law, students must attend all classes and scheduled driving sessions. Students must be 14 years of age and possess a valid driver’s permit.
Driver Education is available in the following locations.
- Calmar and surrounding area including:
- Jackson Junction
- West Union
- Peosta and surrounding area including:
- Holy Cross
- St. Donatus
Registration for classes held at an area high school is completed through NICC Staff or the high school guidance or business office. Please verify the contact information within the course by choosing the class schedule link below.
For classes held at an NICC location, registrations may be completed online or by phone. Note that registrations are accepted on a first come, first served basis.
Class times listed are for classroom sessions only; class times listed do not include the Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) portion and driving lessons will be arranged with the instructor. Please bring all schedules to the first class. Extra days may be needed to fulfill state driving requirements especially for larger classes. Adult Driver Education is also available for students over 18 years of age.
After you have completed the registration process, please notify the instructor or the Disability Services Office at Calmar 844.642.2338, ext. 1258 or Peosta 844.642.2338, ext. 2280 of any academic, medical or physical accommodations necessary for the student during this course.
Cost for the course is $349 and is due with the registration. When registering with a high school, fee waivers may be honored. Check with the guidance office or business office for your school’s registration procedure.
Attendance is required at all sessions. Ensure your schedule is clear for the duration of the course; no exceptions. Students must have an valid driver’s permit before the first class.