Driver education courses provided by Northeast Iowa Community College teach novice drivers the knowledge, driving skills and attitudes necessary to become safe, low-risk, responsible drivers. The class satisfies the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) requirements and includes 30 hours of face-to-face or online instruction, six hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience and six hours of observation.
To comply with Iowa law, students must attend all classes and scheduled driving sessions. Ensure your schedule is clear for the duration of the course; no exceptions. Students must be 14 years of age and possess a valid driver’s permit before the first class.
Parent-taught Driver Education
This class was created and authorized by the Iowa legislature for parents that wish to teach driver education to their own children. Students complete the required online instruction from NICC with the behind-the-wheel lessons provided by parents. Students and parents will need to follow the process from the Iowa DOT.
Adult Driver Education
Driving lessons are also available for students over 18 years of age. For more information, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Register for Driver Education Courses
Registration for courses may be completed online or by calling 844.642.2338, ext. 1399. Note that registrations are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis.
Students and/or parents should contact their school district business office to verify eligibility for financial assistance prior to registering for the course.
After you have completed the registration process, please notify the instructor or the Accessibility Services Office of any academic, medical or physical accommodations necessary for the student during this course.
- Calmar Area: 844.642.2338, ext. 1258
- Peosta Area: 844.642.2338, ext. 2280